Databases
Magazines, Newspapers, and Scholarly Journals
When you are off-campus, for most databases, you will need to log-in with your ECFS username (without the @ecfs.org) and password. If you are having trouble logging in, please email tsupport@ecfs.org.
General Databases
Academic One File
Password: empirelink
Full-text articles from journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
National Geographic Virtual Library
National Geographic Virtual Library
(password: library) National Geographic Virtual Library brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research. With standard library features and functionality common to many Gale resources, National Geographic Virtual Library is a powerful tool for research through the 100+ years of quality publications.
E-Library
Newspapers, magazines, books, maps, pictures, video, TV/radio transcripts, and a reference center with dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, and almanacs.
JSTOR Scholarly Journals
Archived back issues of scholarly journals in the Arts, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Business.
Popular Magazines
1000 of the most searched magazines 100% full-text. Titles like Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, NPR and even Oprah are included in this database.
ProQuest
Over a thousand popular and academic journals, newspapers from around the world and reference books - Historical Newspapers : New York Times (1851), Wall Street Journal, L.A. Times (1881) , Chinese Newspaper Collection, Times of India (1861), Chicago Defender (1909), etc.
Gale in Context : Middle School
GALE IN CONTEXT: MIDDLE SCHOOL
Password: empirelink
Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.
Databases by Subject
Arts & Images
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data. Dozens of collections from a wide variety of cultures across all major time periods, including a collection of 190,000 old master drawings originally photographed at over 100 different repositories, 20 years of contemporary New York City gallery shows, archives of Islamic textiles, the restored Ghiberti "Gates of Paradise," African masks, medieval manuscripts, images of all exhibitions shown at MoMA, and many others.
150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
More than 100 full-text magazines and journals that support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and film-making.
Pop Culture Studies
It's all around us and influences our lives every day. Useful in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Business, Economics, and Technology
More than 150 full-text academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics.
Company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.
Communications and Mass Media Collection
100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2013
(password: empirelink) EHA is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843 and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys. Altogether this is an unrivalled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries.
Ethics & Social Issues
CultureGrams is a leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world. CultureGrams provides country reports which deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. Choose between World, Kids, States or Provinces editions.
Pamphlets on many current issues and events that combine background information, articles opinions and statistics. Excellent starting point for papers on social and political concerns. Searchable by keyword, date.
150 journals on topics such as drug and addiction issues, behavioral sciences, criminal justice, sociology, law, poverty, human rights, civil rights, issues of gender and race, law enforcement, and crime.
For social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. More than 150 journals.
Coverage of such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Devoted to exploring social and ethical issues. Academic journals, magazines, reference, essays, multimedia, primary sources, statistics, websites. Search through a topic list or by keyword.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.
Health
Articles on Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
Over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.
Psychology
200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals on the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time.
History
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Collection
(password: empirelink) The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
CultureGrams is a leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world. CultureGrams provides country reports which deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. Choose between World, Kids, States or Provinces editions.
The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2013
(password: empirelink) EHA is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843 and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys. Altogether this is an unrivalled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
(password: empirelink) Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Great Events and Great Lives from History
Fabulous reference set that searches by name and event from the ancient world to the 20th Century. Also includes “Notorious” Lives and LGBTQ+ events.
The Making of the Modern World
(password: empirelink) The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.
Over 400 journals, which cover all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
(password: empirelink) A ground-breaking resource for 19th century studies, NCCO is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
It's all around us and influences our lives every day. Useful in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
(password: empirelink) The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
This collection provides coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
A collection of titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.
(Password=library) Biographies of important women from all over the world.
World History
This collection provides overage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
Science & Environment
Nearly 200 titles on agriculture and its related fields, from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Environmental Studies and Policy
Nearly 200 journals on environmental issues and policy, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
Science
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.